Kia Ora, Haere Mai - Welcome to Otaua School

We are a unique rural school located just ten minutes outside of Waiuku township.    We are surrounded by stunning countryside which is incorporated into our learning.  Our 'country kids' get the best educational experiences from New Entrant right through to Year 8.  Spend some time exploring our website, so that you get a better understanding as to what we are about, and when you are ready - feel free to give our office a call to set up a time to come and have a look at our special school.

Our 8 classrooms are named after NZ native birds:

Room 1 Piwakawaka   -  Mrs Shea Malloy

Room 2 Kea - Mrs Carrie Whyte

 Room 3 Ruru - Miss Indya Champion

Room 4 Kiwi Kingdom - Miss Courtney Lindberg


Room 5 Korimako Ako - Ms Jocelyn Brodie

Room 6 Kereru Cove -  Mrs Karen Pavletich

Room 7 Pukekos Nest - Mrs Alison O'Regan

Room 8 Tui - Mr Matthew Taylor





'At Otaua School we are empowering curious learners, deeply connected to our environment, to aspire to greatness

Citizenship - Positively participating and contributing to our school and community
Fairness - Being kind and thoughtful to all

Responsibility - Demonstrate skills to manage ourselves, our interactions with others and care for the school environment
Trustworthiness - Being people who do the right thing, even when no one is looking

2024 Term Dates


Term One        

Thursday 1st February to Friday 12 April 2024              

Tuesday 6 February - Waitangi Day Observed

Friday 29 March - Good Friday

Monday 1 April - Easter Monday

Tuesday 2 April - Easter Tuesday


Term Two         

Monday 29 April  to Friday 5 July 2024

Monday 3 June - King’s Birthday

Tuesday 4 June Kahui Ako Teacher Only Day

 Friday 28 June - Matariki


Term Three

Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September 2024

Term Four           

Monday 14 October to 16 December 2024             
Monday 28 October - Labour Day