'Learn by Doing - Mā te Mahi kā Ako’

NAU MAI, HAERE MAI - WELCOME TO OTAUA SCHOOL

Welcome to Otaua School 2022! See the Covid Link below for our latest 2022 update!

Click on the link for enrolment and start of year information: Start of Year 2022




COVID update 12th Sep 2022.pdf

Welcome to Otaua School.

We are a small rural school located near the
Waiuku Forest. We are surrounded by stunning countryside, close to the Waikato River and Karioitahi Beach.

Historically our school has had a unique connection to the land in Otaua. That is both an historical connection (the portage, significant to the Maori in days gone by, and the dairy factory in Otaua) and a present connection through our farming families, and through the work we do as an Enviroschool. Because of this connection we have named our 4 house groups based around this environment. They are Swamp, River, Coast and Harbour.

Otaua School is 126 years old! The school was originally established in 1895 and was called Maioro school, and was located a little further up Maioro Road. The original school building is now part of the Waiuku Museum.

We currently have 180 students from NE to Year 8.

Our 7 classrooms are named after NZ native birds:

Room 1 Piwakawaka - Mrs Shea Malloy

Room 2 Kea. - Miss Sarah Green

Room 3 Ruru. - Mrs Carrie Whyte


Room 5 Korimako Ako - Mrs Anna Parsonson

Room 6 Kereru Cove. - Mrs Karen Pavletich

Room 7 Pukekos Nest - Mrs Alison O'Regan

Room 8 Tui - Ms Caitlin Wallace-de Vries


R4 ie empty (the old Room 7) . The old Room 4 - now called The Arts - is where Mrs Kay Vincent will be based. Room's 7 and 8 are now our senior classrooms and are located in our brand new building next to Room 6!



''At Otaua School we want all our students to be self-assured, connected, actively involved lifelong learners. '

Citizenship - Positively participating and contributing to our school and community

Fairness - Being kind and thoughtful to all


Responsibility - Demonstrate skills to manage ourselves, our interactions with others and care for the school environment

Trustworthiness - Being people who do the right thing, even when no one is looking

2022 Term Dates

Term One

Tuesday 8 February to Thursday 14 April 2022
(
96 Half days)

Monday 7 February - Waitangi Day Observed

Friday 15 April - Good Friday

Monday 18 April - Easter Monday

Tuesday 19 April - Easter Tuesday

Monday 25 April - ANZAC Day


Term Two

Monday 2 May to Friday 8 July 2022
(
96 half days)

Monday 6 June - Queen’s Birthday

Friday 24 June - Matariki

Term Three

Monday 25 July to Friday 30 September 2022
(
100 half days)


Term Four

Monday 17 October to Friday 16 December 2022
(
92 half days)
Monday 24 October - Labour Day