'Learn by Doing - Mā te Mahi kā Ako’

NAU MAI, HAERE MAI - WELCOME TO OTAUA SCHOOL

Welcome to Otaua School 2024

The School Office will be open on Thursday 25th January for Uniform and Enrolments 

School starts for students on Thursday 1st February

We can not wait to see everyone! Don't forget to check your class dojo for more information! https://www.classdojo.com/


Click here for 2024 important information: 2024 Information for Families



Welcome to Otaua School.  

We are a small rural school located near the  Waiuku Forest.  We are surrounded by stunning countryside, close to the Waikato River and Karioitahi Beach.

Historically our school has had a unique connection to the land in Otaua. That is both a historical connection (the portage, significant to the Maori in days gone by, and the dairy factory in Otaua) and a present connection through our farming families and through the work we do as an Enviroschool. Because of this connection, we have named our 4 house groups based around this environment.  They are Swamp, River, Coast and Harbour.


Otaua School is 129 years old!  The school was originally established in 1895 and was called Maioro School, and was located a little further up Maioro Road.  The original school building is now part of the Waiuku Museum.


We currently have 190 students from NE to Year 8.

Our 9 classrooms are named after NZ native birds:

Room 1 Piwakawaka   -  Mrs Shea Malloy

Room 2 Kea - Mrs Carrie Whyte

 Room 3 Ruru - Miss Indya Champion

Room 4 Kiwi Kingdom - Miss Courtney Lindberg


Room 5 Korimako Ako - Ms Jocelyn Brodie

Room 6 Kereru Cove -  Mrs Karen Pavletich

Room 7 Pukekos Nest - Mrs Alison O'Regan

Room 8 Tui - Mr Matthew Taylor





''At Otaua School we are empowering curious learners, deeply connected to our environment, to aspire to greatness. '

Citizenship - Positively participating and contributing to our school and community

Fairness - Being kind and thoughtful to all


Responsibility - Demonstrate skills to manage ourselves, our interactions with others and care for the school environment

Trustworthiness - Being people who do the right thing, even when no one is looking

2024 Term Dates

Term One         

Thursday 1st February to Friday 12 April 2024              

Tuesday 6 February - Waitangi Day Observed

Friday 29 March - Good Friday

Monday 1 April - Easter Monday

Tuesday 2 April - Easter Tuesday


Term Two         

Monday 29 April  to Friday 5 July 2024

Monday 3 June - King’s Birthday

Tuesday 4 June Kahui Ako Teacher Only Day

 Friday 28 June - Matariki


Term Three

Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September 2024

Term Four           

Monday 14 October to 16 December 2024             
Monday 28 October - Labour Day